Sweet Surrender

1804 Frankfort Avenue Louisville, KY 40206

A friend told me about Sweet Surrender over a year ago and I’ve driven by it numerous times on my way to restaurants on Frankfort Avenue. But for some reason I just now made my way into their door, and I’m so glad I did!

It’s a cute little cafe where you can split a piece of cake or two over a cup of coffee. Who doesn’t love that….especially this girl with her sweet tooth? But even I couldn’t imagine ordering their Red Velvet Frappe in addition to the 3 pieces of cake we had. I guess I’ll have to make another trip to try that delicious coffee drink! My sister was visiting so my boyfriend and I took her to Sweet Surrender. We each picked out a piece of cake and then split them 3 ways: Bourbon Carrot Cake, Italian Cream Cake, and Buckeye Cake. I think the most important part of any cake is its moistness. Nothing is worse than a dry, crumbling piece of cake. These were all moist, even our leftovers the next day. Bourbon Carrot Cake was my pick which had a delicious bourbon caramel filling and the crunch of walnuts. My sister chose the Italian Cream Cake which had the perfect amount of raspberry filling with its creamy icing. My boyfriend went with the Buckeye Cake; I never mind splitting anything peanut butter and chocolate- a match made in stomach heaven! Their Buckeye Cake was a rich composition of different kinds of peanut butter and chocolate flavors and textures.

With late night hours, it’s the ideal place to go after dinner out or if you want to get out after cooking in. Open Tuesday- Thursday 10 am to 10 pm and Friday- Saturday 10 am to 11 pm.

Bourbon Carrot Cake

Bourbon Carrot Cake

Italian Cream Cake

Italian Cream Cake

Buckeye Cake

Buckeye Cake

Leave a Reply

