Game

2295 Lexington Road Louisville, KY 40206

Game has been on my list of restaurants to go to since they opened. I don’t know what took me so long, but I finally made it!

I felt like we were walking into a ski lodge for dinner with wooden walls and tables that were cross sections of tree trunks. After hearing we should get there early, we arrived around 5:30 pm on a Saturday night and there was a 20 minute wait for a table. (There’s not too many tables, so don’t try to go with a big group of people.) We decided to sit at the bar which was fine with us so we could easily talk to the waiter. He was very friendly and knowledgeable regarding the food and drink menus and provided recommendations which I always love to hear before ordering.

Sitting at the bar

Sitting at the bar

We both started with a Bells Winter White Ale, which was a light winter beer. I did like the selection of beers on their menu with many I had never heard of before.

There’s the option of getting meatball samples of the different types of game for $2-6 each depending on the game. However, we wanted the full burger effect for our first visit. We were both a little adventurous picking different chef recommendations on the menu. I chose the kangaroo burger with greens, cheddar, and tomato jam on a pretzel bun. The waiter informed us that kangaroo is a leaner meat like bison and should be cooked medium or medium-rare so as to not be overdone. I really enjoyed my game selection, but by the last couple bites my crisp pretzel bun was soggy; maybe from the tomato jam? My boyfriend had the antelope burger with greens, tomato, swiss, and roasted garlic aioli (which was delicious and you could really taste with my one sampling bite) on a brioche bun. Both burgers had an herby taste to them with overall great flavor. Don’t worry vegetarians, there are two veggie burger options. We also had a basket of sweet potato fries on the side, which was a generous portion for $4 but weren’t crispy enough for our taste. I think I’ll be a little more daring next time and try the bone marrow like those dining next to us at the bar.

Kangaroo burger

Kangaroo burger

Antelope burger

Antelope burger

2 thoughts on “Game

  1. […] make reservations or call ahead. Check out their menu here. They also own Game (see my previous post) and recently opened Loop […]

  2. Thanks on your marvelous posting! I definitely enjoyed reading it, you could be a great author.
    I will always bookmark your blog and will often come back in the foreseeable future.
    I want to encourage yourself to continue your great work, have a nice
    day!

Leave a Reply

