Sari Sari

2339 Frankfort Avenue Louisville, KY 40206

I found Sari Sari when I was waiting outside for a table at El Mundo. I’ve been trying to branch out every now and then with my restaurant choices and I’ve never seen a Filipino restaurant before so I wanted to check it out. Sari Sari is a small, casual Filipino restaurant with colorful, eclectic decor. We had a quirky, but friendly and attentive waiter who told us three girls to go outside, around the corner, and knock three times on the door when we asked to use the restroom (he was kidding, of course).

I’m a wimp when it comes to spice so I ordered an entree without “spicy” in the title. That apparently doesn’t mean it won’t be spicy. Let’s just say I drank 3 huge glasses of water and another glass of ginger lemonade. I recommend the ginger lemonade, subtly sweet for $1.50. My friend and I split two specials at $13.95 each: sesame fried shrimp tacos and grilled filet of sole with fresh green beans on top. It was a little pricey, but you do get a cup of soup and a generous side of black beans and rice. My favorite part of the meal was the coconut mung bean soup- although it doesn’t look very appetizing in the picture, it’s very flavorful and tasty. I’m saying that, despite the fact that it set my mouth on fire. It is made of mung beans, lemongrass, ginger, and garlic simmered in coconut milk. As far as the entrees, the tortilla used in the shrimp tacos fell apart when I attempted to pick it up but overall it was pretty good. The lettuce and carrot mix on top of the tacos was definitely from a bag of salad but the green beans on the other entree were definitely fresh. The fish was cooked well with a variety of spices that contributed to the heat.

Coconut mung bean soup

Coconut mung bean soup

Sesame fried shrimp tacos

Sesame fried shrimp tacos

Grilled filet of sole with green beans

Grilled filet of sole with green beans

Sari Sari is open Tuesday-Saturday 5-9 pm and Wednesday-Friday 11:30-2 pm. Closed on Sundays. According to the chalk board sign inside, they have an all-you-can-eat buffet on Fridays for $12.95. You can find there menu here.

2 thoughts on “Sari Sari

  1. Jason says:

    Awesome. Props for branching out and going to a hole in the wall phillipino place! You’d think it was a little cheaper, though.

  2. […] you remember from previous posts like Sari Sari (Filipino food), I like to branch out and try ethnic restaurants. So when my friends recommended […]

Leave a Reply

