Superchef’s Breakfast and Lunch

307 Wallace Avenue Louisville, KY 40207

Super Chef’s has to be the most random restaurant I’ve ever been to in Louisville. It’s in the back of a consignment shop. It’s decor consists of superhero posters and home decor signs. 70’s music plays from “Play That Funky Music” and “I Want You Back.”

We arrived around 9:45 am on a Saturday morning; there’s a short line but we’re seated not long after. We started by ordering coffee while we perused the menu. I got really excited reading the unique entrees such as the Hunger Games omelet with BBQ pulled pork, caramelized onions, cheese, and egg whites-interesting but I’m not feeling that gutsy this morning; and the Elvis waffles layered with peanut butter and bananas topped with chocolate syrup- delicious but probably too sweet for breakfast.

We split an order of waffle bites which were good, warning: they’re very sweet and overpriced ($5.99 for this amount below).

Waffle bites

Waffle bites

My friend and I decide to split The Hulk sandwich because it sounded so big and came with hash browns. I would recommend not sharing because it wasn’t as much food as I thought. It’s a green waffle sandwich with homemade sausage, candied bacon, egg, cheese, and then drizzled with syrup. I really liked the candied bacon and the sausage wasn’t bad, but I didn’t think the waffle added anything to the sandwich. Our hash browns were never served to us but after seeing my boyfriend’s which looked like they came from a frozen bag and weren’t that good, I didn’t bother bringing it to the attention of our server(s). The Hulk was good but worth $12.99? I’m not so sure.

The Hulk

The Hulk

My boyfriend went with The Superchef’s Omelet which is made of diced candied bacon, sausage, spinach, peppers, onions, tomatoes, and cheese; with a side of hash browns and mixed greens for $11.99. He really liked it and the veggies were fresh. Again though, I think you can get a better deal for an omelet with tastier hashbrowns.

The Superchef's Omelet

The Superchef’s Omelet

My other friend had the Veggie Breakfast Sandwich, which has egg, spinach, diced peppers, onions, tomatoes, cheese, and mixed greens on a pretzel croissant. I think this is more reasonably priced for what it is at $7.99, as it also comes with hash browns.

Veggie Breakfast Sandwich

Veggie Breakfast Sandwich

In regards to service, you don’t have the standard one waiter; all of the servers waited on us which led to a slightly chaotic dining experience. We also waited 45 minutes for our food to be served after ordering…

Superchef’s also serves lunch items including pizza, burgers, superdillas (named after superheros), soup, and salad. Entrees range in price $7.99-9.99.

Superchef’s is open 6 days a week (closed Monday) 7 am- 3 pm. Check them out on facebook or on yelp.

Leave a Reply

